PhillyCulture

The best of Philadelphia arts, culture and community!
find fun stuff to do: what · where · when ·
philly files

Free Library of Philadelphia

Community Parkway District

Opened in 1927, the Parkway Central Library contains more than 7 million items and many special collections. The Parkway Central Library also hosts events throughout the year. While you are there, be sure to visit the H.O.M.E Page Cafe for a treat. The Rare Book Department offers tours each day at 11:00 am.


Calendar of Events
Corridor of Culture: 100 Years of the Benjamin Franklin Parkway
Through Friday, November 16
Upcoming Exhibition - Diverse Flowers Make A Bouquet: A Celebration of Latinx Culture
Through Friday, September 28
Book Arts Workshop: Blizzard Books
Saturday, September 22
Sundays on Stage: The Principles of Hip Hop: Peace, Love, Unity, and Having Fun
Sunday, September 23
Maxwell King | The Good Neighbor: The Life and Work of Fred Rogers with David Newell “Mr. McFeely” of Mister Rogers' Neighborhood
Monday, September 24
Imani Perry | Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry
Tuesday, September 25
Author Event with David Levering Lewi
Wednesday, September 26
Baking Basics with Rose Levy Beranbaum
Thursday, September 27
Chris Hedges | America: The Farewell Tour
Thursday, September 27
Deborah Harkness | Time's Convert
Monday, October 1
Sandeep Jauhar | Heart: A History
Tuesday, October 2
Hampton Sides | On Desperate Ground: The Marines at The Reservoir, the Korean War's Greatest Battle
Wednesday, October 3
Rebecca Traister | Good and Mad: The Revolutionary Power of Women’s Anger
Thursday, October 4
Halloween
Tuesday, October 9
Anatomy Eats, Part One
Tuesday, October 9
Nelson Díaz | Not from Here, Not from There/No Soy de Aquí ni de Allá: The Autobiography of Nelson Díaz
Tuesday, October 9
Shakespeare in the World Lecture Series: Shakespeare’s Monsters
Wednesday, October 10
Philadelphia -The Changing City
Wednesday, October 10 through Saturday, April 13, 2019
John Cena and Elbow Grease
Friday, October 12
Book Arts Workshop: Accordion Books
Saturday, October 13
Ray Didinger | The Eagles Encyclopedia: Champions Edition with Mark Leibovich | Big Game: The NFL in Dangerous Times
Saturday, October 13
Monday Poets| Katie Ford & Paul Lisicky
Monday, October 15
Ben Fountain | Beautiful Country Burn Again: Democracy, Rebellion, and Revolution
Monday, October 15
Joseph Ellis | American Dialogue: The Founders and Us
Tuesday, October 16
The Appalachian Trail: A Great American Pilgrimage
Tuesday, October 16
Barbara Kingsolver | Unsheltered
Friday, October 19
Mitch Albom | The Next Person You Meet in Heaven: The Sequel to The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Monday, October 22
Julián Castro | An Unlikely Journey: Waking Up From My American Dream
Monday, October 22
Michael Solomonov and Steve Cook | Israeli Soul: Easy, Essential, Delicious
Tuesday, October 23
René Redzepi and David Zilber - Sold Out!
Wednesday, October 24
Nathaniel Philbrick | In the Hurricane’s Eye: The Genius of George Washington and the Victory at Yorktown
Thursday, October 25
Sundays on Stage: Keepers of the Culture
Sunday, October 28
Lynsey Addario | Of Love & War
Tuesday, October 30

Hours
Monday - Wednesday 9am - 9pm
Thursday - Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday 9am - 5 pm
Sunday 1 pm - 5 pm

Admission
Free.

Other Information
Free Library of Philadelphia library card holders may borrow books and other materials. Non-library card holders may use the free internet services for up to one hour upon presenting a valid driver's license.

Visitor Information

Free Library of Philadelphia
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-686-5322 phone

visit website
big map & directions

What's Nearby

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA)


Sponsor

 
The prop shop at Walnut Street Theatre, America's oldest theatre and the most subscribed theatre company in the world.